Mass In F Minor - The Electric Prunes (1973)

Front cover of the reissued 'Mass in F Minor' LP as part of the Rock Classics series in the 1970s in Germany

Reverse cover of the reissued 'Mass in F Minor' LP as part of the Rock Classics series in the 1970s in Germany


Side 1

1. Kyrie Eleison (Axelrod) 3.18

2. Gloria (Axelrod) 5.42

3. Credo (Axelrod) 4.58

Side 2

1. Sanctus (Axelrod) 2.52

2. Benedictus (Axelrod) 4.48

3. Agnus Dei (Axelrod) 4.25


Exact personnel unknown but the following is what has been determined thusfar :

Original members of 'The Electric Prunes' whose pictures appear on the album cover and who recorded the first three tracks on the album (i.e. the line-up from the European Tour 1967) :

James Lowe - Lead Vocals
Mark Tulin - Bass & Organ
Ken Williams - Lead Guitar
Mike Gannon - Rhythm Guitar
Quint - Drums

Mark Tulin and Quint played on every track and James Lowe did all the lead vocals. Richie Podolor, the band's engineer, also helped out on guitar! Ken Williams added some solos.

The Collectors were brought in by Dave Hassinger to complete the project due to time pressures.

The line-up of The Collectors at this time was :

Howie Vickers - Lead Vocals
Bill Henderson - Lead Guitar, Lead Vocals & Keyboards
Claire Lawrence - Saxophone, Flute, Keyboards, Harmonica & Vocals
Glenn Miller - Bass and Vocals
Ross Turney - Drums

The Electric Prunes on the reverse cover of 'Mass in F Minor'
and incorrectly identified on the 1973 German Midi reissue!

Left : Quint
Top Middle : Ken Williams
Top Right : James Lowe (& Autoharp)
Bottom Middle : James 'Weasel' Spagnola
Bottom Right : Mark Tulin

Strangely, the pictures of the original Electric Prunes appear on the reissue cover as they did on the first release of 'Mass in F Minor' but the names by the side of the pictures are those of John Herron, Brett Wade, Ron Morgan, Mark Kincaid and Richard Whetstone who subsequently became the Electric Prunes on 'Release of an Oath' and 'Just Good Old Rock and Roll'! This certainly adds to the mystic of who was actually involved in its recording.

Track listing on the reverse cover of the German Midi reissue in 1973

Label of side 1 of the Midi reissue

Label of side 2 of the Midi reissue

Produced by : Dave Hassinger

Written and arranged by : David Axelrod

David Axelrod's services courtesy of Capitol Records

Art Direction : Ed Thrasher